The Best Picks

Situation:

You’re in a room with a king, a rich man, and a priest. Each orders you to kill the other two, and you’re the only one with a weapon. Who will you listen to and why?

Given:

  1. A Room. A king. A Rich Man. A Priest.
  2. Myself the weapon holder.
  3. An order to kill any two.

Possibilities:

  1. The priest lives
  2. The king lives
  3. The rich lives

Assumptions:

  1. I’ll surely kill two (at least).
  2. I’ll kill in the order I want to.
  3. I’ll play this believing, I’m a soldier in this war.

Play Begins:

  • Case I (Priest Lives)

If he were a priest for real, he wouldn’t have ordered me to kill the other two. He’s the biggest cheater.

  • Case II (King Lives)

He’s the king, what he fears is loss of his throne. If he survives, I get killed later to bury his top secret of priest’s assassination order from him.

  • Case III (Rich Lives)

He’s rich. Before sparing him, I make a deal with him over all his wealth. He’ll be more than happy to get back his life. He’ll be thankful to me forever.

Conclusion:

I don’t trust either the king or the priest. I’m getting to death anyways, killing any of them.

I’ll leave the rich and all I get is money, not a sign of suspicion.

Results:

From the analysis above going in my head, as the three orders me to kill the rest two, I make up my mind.

I’ll do the needful in 3 steps:

  1. I pick up my weapon, and with one swift clears the king’s head.
  2. I look at the rich, make the deal, and slit the priest’s throat.
  3. If the rich seems a threat (I’ll do justice in reading his face), I’m the weapon holder and I’ll feel no more guilt to murder 3 than 2.

Remarks:

Believe me, money would make me content, not an empire which will eventually some day turn back on me as I did to their king, or priest.

Leave a Reply

